Awards & Honors

Congratulations to the 2021 Deans’ and Chancellor’s Undergraduate Research Award winners in SCIPP!

The projects selected are illustrative of the greatest quality work of students in SCIPP.

DEANS’ UNDERGRADUATE AWARDS:  Dean’s Awards are granted to fifty of the most excellent undergraduate research theses or projects (ten from each academic division) completed at UCSC during the academic year. Each Dean’s award project will receive $100 for outstanding achievement in their division.

CHANCELLOR’S UNDERGRADUATE AWARDS:  Fifteen Chancellor’s Awards are granted to the most outstanding top three theses or projects from each division’s Deans’ Awardees. Each Chancellor’s Award project will recieve an additional $500.

STECK AWARD: The Steck Award will recognize the most outstanding research project chosen from the fifteen Chancellor’s Awardees. This student (or team) will receive (or share) an additional $2,000. In addition, the winning research project will be bound and copies given to the student(s), the research supervisor, the UC Santa Cruz Library, and the Steck Family whose generous contributions have made this award possible.

Winners of the Deans’, Chancellor’s and Steck awards were honored during Undergraduate Student Achievement Week.

Deans’ Award Winners from SCIPP:

Constraining the Asymmetry of Type Ia Supernovae using Late-time Spectra
Erika Grace Strasburger
Advisor: Ryan Foley

Unburned carbon in the Outer Layers of Type Ia Supernova Ejecta
Rodrigo Angulo
Advisor: Ryan Foley

Examining the Self Interaction of Dark Matter through Brightest Cluster Galaxy Offsets
Dane Noelle Cross
Advisor: Tesla Jeltema

Jose Elias Jobel
Paige Marie Kelly
Advisor: Tesla Jeltema

Chancellor’s Award,  and Steck Award Winner from SCIPP:

Searching for Primordial Black Holes
Olivia Grace Ross
Advisor: Stefano Profumo