Awards & Honors, SCIPP News

Graduate Division Outstanding Postdoctoral Scholar Award for Giordon Stark and others

UC Santa Cruz strives to promote postdoctoral scholars that embody the mission and high standards of this university. This award recognizes postdoctoral scholars who show excellence in one or more of the following: exceptional research and/or creative activities, leadership, mentorship, and service. Postdoctoral scholars are individuals who have recently completed a doctoral degree and, under the oversight of a faculty mentor, continue training in preparation for a career in academia, industry, government, or the private sector.

Nomination period closed March 31.

Awardees Announced for 2022!

The Graduate Division and a faculty selection committee reviewed nominations and chose not two but three 2022 Outstanding Postdoctoral Scholars! They will be recognized and receive engraved Annieglass platters at the 2022 Postdoc Symposium on May 24 at the Coastal Campus. Each of the three will also receive $1500 for professional development.

Emily Martin Giordon Stark Xinting Yu
Emily Martin
Astronomy and Astrophysics
Nominated by Associate Professor Andrew Skemer
Endorsed by Professor Jonathan J. Fortney, Astronomy and Astrophysics, and Alexandra Mannings, Astronomy and Astrophysics Graduate Student
Giordon Stark
Santa Cruz Institute for Particle Physics (SCIPP)
Nominated by Associate Professor Michael Hance
Endorsed by Distinguished Professor and Chair Bruce A. Schumm, Physics, and Hava Schwartz, Physics Graduate Student
Xinting Yu
Earth and Planetary  Science
Nominated by Associate Professor Xi Zhang
Endorsed by Professor Jonathan J. Fortney, Astronomy and Astrophysic

Read more